What Brings You Hope?

Last night, I had big dreams.

As I settled down to sleep, I had everything planned in my mind:

Wake up at 5am. 

Listen to the Daily Prayer

Work out with Wai Lana

. . . Yes, it was going to be a marvelous morning. My spirit, heart, soul, and body would be refreshed and ready for the day.

Then, I woke up.

cropped-dsc_04501.jpg

Ugh. 5?!? *Sigh*

I reach for my ipod. Yep, it’s dead. No daily prayer conveniently available. I can listen to it on my computer, but. . . I’d have to get up. Forget that. I’ll sleep till 5:30. The alarm goes off again. My husband comes back to bed (he gets up at 5, my Hero does) and says that he’s going to sleep for a little bit.

Fine with me. I push the alarm further to 6, fully knowing that all chances of alone time with God and Yoga have been flushed away by this decision. But, I’m tired. I’ll feel better after this, right?

Wrong.

The rest of the morning, I’m a bear. I growl and the kids scatter. Words fly and feelings are hurt on both ends. A morning gone awry because I wouldn’t get up and take care of my heart.

Not worth it.

This week, I’ve been focusing on Hope. It’s taped to the wall behind my computer. My first glimmer of it this morning was when I drank a glass of water. Relief rushed in. Yes! I needed that, and instantly I heard Jesus’ words:

Jesus said to her, “Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

(John 4:13-14 ESV)

Water springing up inside of me, instead of water I reach for. A spring that wells up to eternal life. Yes, please! Never ending. Ever flowing. I forgot what I already had.

Afterwards, I sit down and listen to my prayer. Each word is a gift! I relish them, roll them in my mind. Yes, yes! I desire your integrity Jesus, in all things. Please, give me that, Father!

Sometime in the night, I forget what I have in Christ. I need to meet with God, daily. He reminds me of what I have, shows me what I need, tells the truth about my life. The Daily Prayer (it’s free!!) is my reminder that what God has promised He has provided. It brings me Hope!

What brings you Hope? Is it a good story, a phone call from a friend, a favorite movie? Is it journaling, watching the sunrise, dancing?

I would love to know! Only don’t dismiss the things that your heart needs. Put it first on your to-do list. Everything else will be brighter and better because of it.

Leave a Reply

