God Wants Your Laundry

Friday, I had finished all the laundry.

I was caught up and excited. My plan was to finish one on Saturday, skip Sunday (it’s my Sabbath), and start fresh Monday.

What I didn’t plan on, was an intervention from friends.

Saturday afternoon, some friends came over. Three families, six adults, seven kids, some chili and spaghetti. Oh yes, it was fun. I had let my kids slack on their rooms all week so their rooms were disasters, but I didn’t care. What are good friends for if not to see you in your best and worst moments?

When it was time to go, the Dads decided to pick up the toys that had been dragged out during play time. They also decided to clean up my kids rooms. Three Dads. Seven kids. Kick butt.

I was thrilled! Sweet! Not only are my friends amazing but their husbands will help clean my house! In the evening, I headed toward the laundry room which also houses my closet. I could barely fit through the door.

This is why.

Monday's Load

What I had believed as “catching up” was merely an illusion. There was still lots of laundry to do except it was hidden among the other “things” that I wasn’t ready to deal with.

Most days, this is so my heart.

I think that I’m doing well, getting “caught up”, getting my stuff together, and then Jesus comes and breaks up an illusion I’ve been carrying (an area of mistrust, un-forgiveness, control) and suddenly, I feel like I’m back where I’ve started. My mess is everywhere and I feel left alone to deal with it.

That’s the lie.

In church, I hear people say that when you walk through the doors, you can leave your cares behind. Your problems are diminished. You are free to worship in this place.

Really?

The problem is that when I leave them outside, I pick them back up after the service. My problems don’t feel any lighter. And my worship is hampered (pun absolutely intended) because my crap is still hounding me. This “laundry” is too much to go through on my own.

The lie is that I need to drop my cares in order to reach up to God.

The truth is that I cannot truly see God until I give my cares to Him –

6 Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, 7 casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.
1 Peter 5:6-7

God wants my laundry.

He doesn’t leave me alone with my stuff, my mess, the things that I desire, care about, cry about, ache for, angry about. He wants it all.

Because He cares for me.

What an amazing God.

It takes humility to admit that I can’t do this on my own. Certainly goes against the boot strap mentality. But, oh, what a relief it is to have help, to have Someone willing to step in my mess and to work through it with me.

And, oh how easy it is to respond to that. I can worship a God who will bend down with me, in the dust and the mess. Who will love me enough to take what I can’t carry. To be the bride of such a bridegroom.

He wants your laundry. Don’t keep it from Him.

Invite Him in.

Let Him show you how much He cares for you.

Leave a Reply

